Miami Heat become two-time champs, LeBron named MVP

After an amazing series against the San Antonio Spurs, the Miami Heat win 95-88 and become the NBA Champions for the second year in a row.

This was by far the best game of the series. It was apparent that each team was tired, but they gave all that they had.

The game started out close with the Spurs taking an early lead. Miami, however, didn’t let that affect them. Slowly but surely, they were able to catch up and take the lead by the end of the first quarter.

San Antonio then came back and led briefly late in the second quarter, with the help of Tony Parker and Tim Duncan. Despite their attempts, Miami regained  and held on to the lead to end the half.

The Spurs came out a little more rejuvenated and a little more energetic to start the second half. Budding superstar Kawhi Leonard was big in the third half, scoring nine points and ending the game with 19. However, it wasn’t enough to deter the Heat from going.

Shane Battier and Mario Chalmers each had a three-pointer to end the third quarter, putting the Heat up by one. Both players put forth their best efforts and made big plays in the win.

Battier, who ended with 18 points and went 6-8 from the three-point line, began the fourth quarter with another three-pointer, which gave the Heat the energy and motivation they needed. The Spurs, on the other hand, did not come back out with the same will to win.

Leonard and Duncan still did what they can, scoring 12 of the Spurs’ 17 fourth quarter points. Their efforts were overshadowed by their low shooting percentage (38 percent from the field) and costly turnovers.

They could have caught up as they were only down by four points with 27 seconds left in the game, but Manu Ginobili had a turnover and a missed shot,  causing the Spurs to have to foul. Unlike San Antonio in game six, Miami made three out of the four shots (LeBron James made both while Dwyane Wade only made one).

The Miami Heat now have two NBA titles under the “Wade-James-Bosh Era” and James was named the MVP for the second year in a row. He joins Bill Russell and Michael Jordan as the only players to win consecutive regular season and NBA Finals MVP titles.

So, congratulations to the Miami Heat on another championship.

Categories: basketball, Miami Heat, National Basketball Association, NBA, San Antonio Spurs, Sports | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: